User Agreement Faceapp

4. All FaceApp features are available without a connection and you can only connect to the configuration screen. As a result, 99% of users do not sign up. Therefore, we do not have access to data that could identify a person. I can see why FaceApp decides to upload the user`s photo to its server and process it on its server: from a professional point of view, hiding the photo processing code on its server makes it difficult for potential competitors to copy it. It also makes hacking users difficult are able to pay $3.99/month for premium use. Keener users can part with 20 $US for a year, or those who are sure to receive significant miles from the app for years to come can pay a one-time fee of $40 for lifetime access. Yes, this last idea may have been poorly thought out and, rightly, caused a lot of controversy for the Russian application developed by Wireless Lab. Just like the fact that the „hot“ filter tended to give white properties to black users, including the not so subtle thinning of the skin… Potentially disturbing for FaceApp users – and anyone who has been active before: When FaceApp users log in, they agree to let FaceApp/Wireless use their face for any purpose, in accordance with the terms of use. Users also give access to the application`s siri and search functions.

2. We can save a photo uploaded to the cloud. The app was found only to take pictures of FaceApp users on these servers, and not store all photos on users` phones, as some fear on social media – although this is allowed by the terms of use that users have accepted. It found that no mass downloads were made – FaceApp took only the specific photos that users decided to submit. It`s up to the app`s more than 120 million users to decide whether it bothers them or not; Rob La Gesse, former manager of Rackspace, said: „For FaceApp to really work, you have to give it permission to access your photos – ALL of that. But he also has access to Siri and research…. Oh, and it has access to refreshment in the background – so even if you don`t use it, it uses you. FaceApp also says that users can demand that their data be deleted.

Although it doesn`t yet have a very fluid way to do this, users are encouraged to send deletion queries via the mobile app with „Settings->support->Report a bug“ with the word „privacy“ in the subject line, adding that it „works on a better user interface for that.“ The similar web collection of FaceApp statistics also shows FaceApp users the most frequently used application categories. Unsurprisingly, photographic applications are the most popular, followed by a collection that could be described as the usual suspects: communication, tools and entertainment.

Kategorien
  • Keine Kategorien